Transitioning From ITIL 3 To ITIL 4: A New Frontier In ITSM
 /  News / Transitioning From ITIL 3 To ITIL 4: A New Frontier In ITSM
Transitioning From ITIL 3 To ITIL 4: A New Frontier In ITSM

Transitioning From ITIL 3 To ITIL 4: A New Frontier In ITSM

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library, better known as ITIL, is Axelos’ globally recognised IT service management (ITSM) framework. It is a business-centric framework that provides comprehensive and practical guidance in establishing a service management system.

It aims to support organisations in getting the most out of their IT services, and help to align their business strategies to their customers’ needs. To that end, they provide cost-effective strategies for every step of the project management process, and to conduct risk management and customer relations.

In 2017, Axelos updated the ITIL to better align their certification scheme to the modern needs of IT practitioners across the world. In line with their commitment to keeping their courses relevant and up-to-date, the programme is now in its fourth iteration, ITIL 4. This includes the courses of various levels, from ITIL 4 Foundation to ITIL 4 Specialist/Strategist.

What’s new in ITIL 4?

For starters, rather than a complete overhaul, ITIL 4 expands on previous versions. The course improves on the practicality and flexibility of previous frameworks, which makes it better suited to the needs of modern businesses.

ITIL 4 includes a brand-new end-to-end operating model. This model provides you with essential strategies that will help you before, during, and after the execution of an IT project. This covers the formation, execution and consistent improvement of your IT services. ITIL 4 will help you optimise your business, such that it can adapt to ever-changing technologies while staying aligned to your business goals.

While the key elements of ITIL 3 have been preserved, ITIL 4 provides a much more holistic approach to ITSM. The new model includes additional best practices, such as improving the collaboration between individuals and different departments within the company. Customisation is another strong focus, as the model is applicable across any industry that has IT operations.

In summary, ITIL 4 updates the framework to better accommodate the shift in modern corporate culture. The most significant changes address the increasing need for effective collaboration and integration between IT and overall business structure.

While ITIL 4 is the most up-to-date scheme, many IT professionals had already attended courses under the previous iteration, ITIL 3. If you happen to be one of them, you may be left wondering – where does that leave you?

Making the transition to ITIL 4

If you have already taken ITIL 3 courses, do not fret. All the ITIL certifications remain valid even after the implementation of the ITIL 4 certification. ITIL 3 is still a globally recognised and highly relevant qualification that continues to support several organisations worldwide. Furthermore, since the core features have been preserved between the two iterations, making the jump to ITIL 4 will be a breeze.

Exactly how you can make the transition depends on your level of certification under ITIL 3. Here is a summary of what you need to do to at each ITIL 3 skill level.

  • ITIL 3 Foundation – Due to the large amount of updated material in the new syllabus, you are required to take the ITIL 4 Foundation training course to make the full transition.
  • ITIL Intermediate/Practitioner level – If you have already started collecting ITIL 3 Intermediate/Practitioner credits, you should continue to do so. After attaining 17 credits, you can attend the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module. This will grant you the ITIL Managing Professional designation.
  • ITIL 3 Expert – You simply need to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module to receive the ITIL Managing Professional designation. For those interested in the ITIL Strategic Leader title, you can take the ITIL Leader Digital & Strategy module instead. After taking either module, you will be eligible to progress to ITIL Master.

The technological landscape is constantly changing, and so is the field of ITSM. IT professionals must stay up-to-date on the latest strategies so that they can remain relevant. If you have not attended an ITIL course before, it is never too late to start on your ITIL journey with the ITIL 4 Foundation training course. You can even upgrade yourself from the comfort of your home with BridgingMind’s online courses. We provide ITIL 4 Foundation training online, bringing the latest ITSM knowledge straight to your screen.


Related Posts

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.*

Get in touch with us

+65 6635 5590