4 ITIL Best Practices To Apply For Better Customer Experience

Technology is advancing rapidly in ways that have reshaped how people interact using information and technology. Among such rapid changes, businesses might begin to think of the best methods to improve their IT services while ensuring a better customer experience.

ITIL®, or Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is the world’s best-known framework for IT Service Management and is used by most of the biggest companies worldwide across all industries. The ITIL® best practice framework allows you to align your IT services to the business needs and goals.

Explore the top 4 ITIL® best practices to apply for a better customer experience.

1. Adopting ITIL guiding principles

The ITIL® Guiding Principles consist of the seven principles that incorporate the ITIL® core message and focus on value. The guiding principles provide recommendations that support high-quality service in service management, no matter the industry or technology approach. The general and comprehensive recommendations make it easy for your organisation to adopt these principles while producing a better customer experience.

2. Implementing a service value chain approach

The latest version of ITIL® is ITIL® 4. ITIL® 4 adopts the concept of value streams with its integration of the service value chain comprising six standard elements – plan, engage, improve, design and transition, build, deliver and support. Every activity can be merged with others so that you can chart the value streams for circumstances that include diverse activities for pursuing maximum customer value.

3. Adopting the management practices

ITIL® 4 introduced a brand-new Service Value System (SVS) along with 34 management practices that can be applied throughout the overall value chain. The SVS allows you to consider every one of your organisation’s four dimensions (people, partners, technology, and value streams). ITIL® 4 supplies numerous types of guidance for each of these practices, such as key terms and concepts, key activities, success factors, information objects, etc. This aspect is also one of the key differences when transitioning from ITIL® 3 to ITIL® 4.

4. Continual improvement model

The ITIL® continual improvement model provides simple and systematic steps for an improvement initiative at any scale. In ITIL® 4, the concept is revamped into a 7-step continual improvement model. The model allows you to understand your organisation’s vision, identify gaps, and plan and execute specific activities to reach your intended state. The continual improvement model focuses on customer value and ensures that all improvement initiatives align with the organisation’s vision, providing a better customer experience.


ITIL® provides guidelines on how to give the best service possible for a better customer experience. The instructions are purposefully general so businesses can easily customise and implement them regardless of industry. ITIL is constantly being updated, evolving to fit the modern and changing times.

Consider enrolling in a Singapore ITIL® 4 foundation course that will allow you to certify yourself with the latest ITSM knowledge to improve customer experience. BridgingMinds provides the SF- ITIL® 4 Foundation course, a 3-day course that will provide learners with an understanding of the ITIL® 4 service management framework. Sign up and be certified in no time! We also offer many other courses to help improve your organisation, such as PMP training courses and more.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.